View Cart Feedback
Please rate your experience
with Midleton GAA Club
Leave this field empty
Leave this field empty

You must enable Javascript in your browser to use this website.

Click here to find out how

Midleton GAA notes 25th July 2011

25 July, 2011

Midleton Juvenile GAA Golf Classic
Who says lightning doesn’t strike twice?
Following on from the great success of 2010 there were concerns that a mixture of the economy and tightening work schedules would put a damper on this year’s golf classic. Maybe because of those concerns the organising committee for this year’s event really pulled out all the stops and  produced a fantastic success.
The weather, despite the forecast worked out a treat, 111 teams participated with an equal amount of tee box sponsors on show, including sponsors as far away as New York.
On behalf of the Juvenile Club I would like to thank the Committee brilliantly led by Frank Bransfield for the organisation of this event, everything proved to be a hit from Timmy serving up the burger’s to Gavin “Mc Crirrick” Power your friendly neighbourhood Bookie on the 18th!
Many thanks to our main sponsor BLACKWATER MOTORS Volkswagen Cork & Fermoy. Thanks also to all other prize sponsors, the sponsors of teams, tee boxes, those who helped out over the two days and to Maurice & Claire Maloney of East Cork Golf Club for their wonderful hospitality once again.
Photos of the event are now up on the Photo Gallery and you can see them by clicking HERE
Coleman Quirke

Winners – GAA Society team – Jerry O’Farrell, Pat Hayes & Aidan Crowley (52 1/3 last 9)
2nd Francis Maher team – David Morrissey, Daniel Morrissey & Liam McCarthy (52 1/3)
3rd  Maple Leaf Bar – Daniel Morrissey, Michael Daly & Gary Johnson (52 ½ last 6)
4th Oisin Cotter team – Oisin Cotter, Aonghus Cotter and Cormac Beausang NON GUI (52)
5th Pat Sexton team – Pat Sexton, John O’Neill & Brian O’Neill (52 ½)
6th Donal O Callaghan team – Donal O’Callaghan, Robert Cotter & Vincent Flanagan (53 ½)
7th Mark Carroll team – Mark Carroll, James O’Callaghan & Paul Drake (53 5/6)
8th Ger Manleys team – Ger Manley, Garan Manley and Paddy O’Brien (54)
9th Millipore 2 team – James McCarthy, Aaron McEvoy & Eamon Murphy (54 1/3)
10th John Hogans team – John Hogan, Sean O’Riordan & John Fitzpatrick (54 ½)
11th Pfizer Biologics team – Pat Finn, Shane Kelly & Martin Murphy (55 1/6)
12th Redwood Power Tools team – Michael Crotty, Anthony Wall & Phillip O Brien (55 1/3 last 9)
13th Cian McCarthy’s team – Cian McCarthy, Cristeoir O’Cashaigh & Lochlinn McCarthy (55 1/3)
14th Liam Walsh team – Liam Walsh, Paul O’Donnell & Ger Manley (55 2/3 last 9)
15th Adrian Williams team – Adrian Williams, Robert Williams & Jack O Flynn (55 2/3 last 9)
16th Cormac Walsh team – Cormac Walsh, Killian Burke & Padraig O Farrell (55 2/3)
17th VG Hire team – Scott Coyle Garde, Robert Williams & Garan Manley (55 5/6 last 9)
18th Blackwater Motors team – Noel O’Keeffe, Michael Bane & John Maguire (55 5/6)
19th Dineco Cleaning Solutions team – Brian Rossiter, Luke Dineen & Darren Quirke (56 last 9)
20th Brian Healy team – Brian Healy, Len Downey and Roy Downey (56)
Best Seniors – Omada team – Eamon McSweeney, Sean Murphy & Christy O Sullivan (56) Best Ladies – Mary Walsh team – Valerie McCarthy, Kathleen Byrne & Mary B Walsh (62 1/6)
Non GUI – Millipore 1 team – Alan Keohane, Finbarr O Sullivan & Tom Cronin (56)
Mens Longest Drive 9th – Roy Downey
Ladies Longest Drive 17th – Tara Mc’Carthy
Nearest the Pin Ladies 7th – Nora Aherne
Nearest the Pin Men’s 14th – Killian Burke
Our list of Team and tee box sponsors will be displayed on our website very soon and I would encourage everyone to support them in any way you can.
Roll on 2012 we’re already looking forward to it.

Junior A Hurling Championship
Mileton face Dungourney in the quarter final of the Championship this coming Saturday, 30th,  evening in Killeagh at 7pm. Dungourney were hugely impressive in their demolition of Castlemartyr in the opening round and will be fancied to progress. Pearse McCarthy and his selectors have worked hard to overcome their long injury list to get to this stage and with five games played in the championship to date will not want for lack of match practice.

Fe 9
On Saturday last we welcomed Cobh fe9's to Clonmult Memorial park for the first meeting between these two sides. Due to the summer holidays both teams were short players but still managed to have 20 players each which is a great turn out for this time of the year, having the same number of players is a great start to any game at this age group which means a full game for every player on both sides.We both picked two even teams of 10 aside and played 2 15min aside games with each Midleton team playing both Cobh teams. This turned out to be a very even and enjoyable mornings hurling with great skill levels on both sides. Thanks to Cobh for the game and we will return to Cobh in the near future for another game also thanks to the parents of the players for their continued support. Midleton Panel TEAM 1:Cian Kelly, Aaron Coughlan, Charlie Walsh, Alex Quirke, Daire Mooney, Kevin o Brien, Ordhan O’Brien, Rory Lang, Sam o Sullivan, TEAM 2 Ryan Cahill, Patrick Kelly, Daithi Magan, Gavin Reddy, James Coffey, Bradley Savage, Thomas McGrath, Jack Fitzgerald, Shane Newcombe, Luke Deane. Also from the FE8 panel Shay Bowe and Feilim Magan.

Fe 10
On Friday 22nd Midleton’s Fe 10’s travelled to Carrigaline for a hurling championship. Midleton travelled with 19 players which was a good show considering all those away on hols. The lads were split into two teams in order that everyone got a full game. Carrigaline were a good challenge for our lads and game by game our lads are showing more understanding of their sport and good use of the skills gained in training.
Training continues on Tuesday evenings from 6.30 to 7.30pm and Saturday mornings from 9.45 to 11am.

Monday 25th July Fe 14 Premier 1 Hurling league v Aghada home @ 7.30
Tuesday 26th July Fe 16 Premier 1 Hurling league v Glen Rovers away @ 7.30
Tuesday 2nd August Fe 16 Premier 2 Football league v Aghada away @ 7.30
Monday 15th August Fe 16 Premier 1 Hurling Championship v Blackrock in CIT @ 6.45   

© 2023 Midleton GAA Club | Web design by Granite Digital