View Cart Feedback
Please rate your experience
with Midleton GAA Club
Leave this field empty
Leave this field empty

You must enable Javascript in your browser to use this website.

Click here to find out how

Midleton GAA Club News

19 June, 2014

Feile na nGael

All roads lead to Thurles this Saturday for our Fe14 hurlers represtenting Cork in the Feile na nGael for the first time in the club's history.
We wish the players, management and supporters the very best of luck in their travels.
The Regional Féile na nGael tournament in Thurles next Saturday 21st of June will be held in Dr Morris Park and Thurles Sarsfields, with the final taking place in Semple Stadium.
This regional tournament will be competed for by the winners of the internal Division 1 hurling Féile competitions in Clare, Cork, Dublin, Galway, Kilkenny, Limerick, Tipperary, Waterford and Wexford. Following a draw made by the National Games Development Committee, a second team was allocated to Tipperary (as hosts), Clare and Kilkenny. These teams were the runners up in the internal Division 1 féile hurling tournament in those counties.
The winners of this tournament will be awarded the Seamus Ó Riain trophy - Seamus being the GAA President that inaugurated Féile na nGael, in 1971.​
In total 12 teams will participate in the Regional Féile na nGael in Thurles.

These teams will are:
Midleton, Cork
Athenry, Galway
Dicksboro, Kilkenny
Sixmilebridge, Clare
Waterford ?
Garryspillane, Limerick
Moyle Rovers, Tipperary
Naomh Eanna, Wexford
Dublin ?
O'Loughlin Gaels, Kilkenny
Moycarkey Borris, Tipperary
Inagh Kilnamona, Clare

Group 1  
Round 1 Dicksboro BYE @ Dr Morris Park Pitch 1 11.30
Round 1 Midleton v Athenry @ Dr Morris Park Pitch 1 11.30
Round 2 Midleton BYE @ Dr Morris Park Pitch 1 12.30
Round 2 Athenry v Dicksboro @ Dr Morris Park Pitch 1 12.30
Round 3 Athenry BYE @ Dr Morris Park Pitch 1 1.30
Round 3 Midleton v Dicksboro @ Dr Morris Park Pitch 1 1.30

Semi Final 1st Group 1 1st Group 2 Dr Morris Park Pitch 1 3.15
Semi Final 1st Group 3 1st Group 4 Dr Morris Park Pitch 2 3.15  

Final Winner Semi Final 1 Winner Semi Final 2 Semple Stadium 4.30

Group 1 - Midleton Cork, Athenry Galway & Dicksboro Kilkenny
Group 2 - Sixmilebridge Clare, Waterford ? & Garryspillane Limerick
Group 3 - Moyle Rovers Tipperary, Naomh Eanna Wexford & Dublin ?
Group 4 - O Loughlin Gaels Kilkenny, Moycarkey Borrsis & Inagh Kilnamona Clare
The 12 participating teams will be divided into 4 groups of 3 teams. Each team will play each other team in their group in a round robin system. Subsequently teams will be ranked 1 – 3 within each group.
The teams ranked 1 in each of the 4 groups will play off in 2 semi finals and subsequently a final. Teams ranked 2 and 3 in each group will play off in a single cross over game against a similarly ranked team in another group.
For more details on the Feile na nGael click HERE

© 2021 Midleton GAA Club | Web design by Granite Digital