View Cart Feedback
Please rate your experience
with Midleton GAA Club
Leave this field empty
Leave this field empty

You must enable Javascript in your browser to use this website.

Click here to find out how

County Hurling Championship Launch

22 May, 2014

County Hurling Championship Launch

The media launch of the County Senior, Premier Intermediate and Intermediate Hurling Championships took place on May 21st at Páirc Uí Rinn.

While the Divisions/Colleges section of the Senior Hurling Championship is already underway, club championship games commence on the weekend of May 24th, continuing over the two following weekends.

Senior Hurling Championship (Seán Óg Murphy Cup)

2013 Champions: Midleton
Runners-up: Sarsfields
Relegated: Ballinhassig
Promoted: Youghal

Round 1 Pairings
Friday May 30th
@ Páirc Uí Chaoímh, St Finbarrs v Bishopstown, 8.00pm
Saturday May 31st
@ Riverstown, Bride Rovers v Carrigtwohill, 7.45pm
@ Midleton, Killeagh v Glen Rovers, 7.00pm ET
@ Páirc Uí Rinn, Ballymartle v Courcey Rovers 7.45pm
Sunday June 1st
@ Páirc Uí Chaoímh, Na Piarsaigh v Blackrock, 2.00pm
@ Páirc Uí Chaoímh, Midleton v Erin’s Own, 3.45pm Alt. 7/6 (prov. on inter county results)
@ Fermoy, Newtownshandrum v Youghal, 3.30pm
@ Páirc Uí Rinn, Sarsfields v Douglas, 7.45pm

Round 2 (Losers’ Group) Pairings: Na Piarsaigh/Blackrock v Newtownshandrum/Youghal, Sars/Douglas v Bride Rovers/Carrigtwohill, Ballymartle/Courcey Rovers v St. Finbarr’s/Bishopstown, Killeagh/Glen Rovers v Midleton/Erin’s Own

Divisions/Colleges Section
Two of the following teams will join the Round 4 draw:
*Games scheduled for June 18th

Seán Óg Murphy Cup - Senior Hurling Championship

A native of Cork city, Sean Og Murphy (1897-1956) played hurling for Blackrock and football for Nils. With Nils he won junior football titles in 1913 and 1914, while with his beloved Blackrock hurling team he won county titles in 1913, 1920, 1924, 1925 and 1927. The last three wins featured Murphy as captain of the side. He won three All-Ireland medals with Cork (1919, 1926 and 1928), along with six Munster medals. Murphy also lined out with Munster in the inter-provincial hurling competition. He first played for his province as captain in the inaugural year of the Railway Cup competition in 1927, however, Leinster were the victors on that occasion. Murphy served as captain again in 1928 and 1929 as he collected two Railway Cup winners' medals. Murphy also served as a selector on various Cork hurling teams over a period of four decades. While still a player he was a selector on the Cork teams that won the All-Ireland title sunder his captaincy in 1926 and 1928. Even though an injury brought his hurling career to an end Murphy served as a selector as Cork won two more All-Ireland titles in 1929 and 1931. He was a key member of the backroom team again as Cork won six more All-Ireland titles in 1941, 1943, 1944, 1952, 1953 and 1954. He served as secretary of Cork County Board from 1929 until his death in 1956, and in 2000 was named as full-back on the Cork Hurling Team of the Century.


© 2021 Midleton GAA Club | Web design by Granite Digital