View Cart Feedback
Please rate your experience
with Midleton GAA Club
Leave this field empty
Leave this field empty

You must enable Javascript in your browser to use this website.

Click here to find out how

Red FM SHL result is black and white

13 November, 2010

Senior Hurling League Final
Midleton 0-18 Erins Own 0-16
Midleton won the Conroy Cup for the winners of the Senior Hurling League when we triumphed over Erins Own after extra time. The competition is sponsored by Red FM. The game went ahead on Friday night under lights in Pairc Ui Rinn in ideal conditions for hurling. Both teams were short players and it was the Magpies who made the brighter start and raced into a five point lead. Sean Hennessy from frees, Conor Lehane with two from play. and Paul Barry with the other Erins Own came more into the game with Eoghan Murphy and Peter Kelly to the fore for them. By half time Midleton led by 0-08 to 0-06. Midleton started the second half well and were 0-12 to 0-07 to the good when Erins Own upped their performance and Midleton seemed to drift out of the game. There was never much bite to the game but as the final whistle drew closer both teams played with more conviction. Erins Own had the momentum but never got ahead. In the end both teams had to settle for a draw. Erins Own had several chances to win it near the end but both teams were happy to take extra time. Midleton found their range in extra time and led by two points with time up. One last Erins Own attack looked to have secured a goal but the ball trickled wide and the final whistle sounded.
Ger Lane, PRO Cork County Board presented the trophy to Midleton Captain Aidan Ryan after the game.
Overall it is a fine achievement by this young team to secure a trophy in a year where they have made a lot of progress. They have a strong foundation to build on for next year. Congratulations to all involved as they have given a lot of pleasure to their supporters throughout the year.
Team. Brian Behan, Stephen Murphy, Declan Ryan, Alwyn Kearney, Padraig O’Shea, Aidan Ryan, James Nagle, Seamus O’Farrell, Tommy Wallis, Sean Hennesssy (0-6 Frees), Kieran Mulcahy, Conor Leahane (0-8, 3 Frees), Paul Barry (0-1), Stephen Moore (0-1), Paul Haughney (0-2).
Subs Used: Killian Burke and Finnbarr O’Mahony.

© 2023 Midleton GAA Club | Web design by Granite Digital