View Cart Feedback
Please rate your experience
with Midleton GAA Club
Leave this field empty
Leave this field empty

You must enable Javascript in your browser to use this website.

Click here to find out how

Premier County Minor Championship Win

26 October, 2010

Minors Bridge 21 Year Gap

Midleton 1-15 Na Piarsaigh 0-12

The Midleton minor hurlers won the Premier 1 Minor Hurling Championship on Bank Holiday Monday last when they overcame a strong challenge from Na Piarsaigh by six points. This game was in the melting pot with only two points between the teams with eight minutes to go. However Midleton finished the stronger. Conor Lehane and Stephen Moore added four unanswered points to seal a memorable victory. Midleton had started the game strongly with Conor Lehane scoring a superb point in our first attack. It was Na Piarsaigh though who were the more economical with their possession over the next ten minutes. Midleton drove a series of poor wides and Na Piarsaigh though having less of the ball managed to lead by four points to two. Midleton then four their range and had four unanswered points. It was tit for tat from their to half time where we held a slender one point lead by 0-08 to 0-07. We had lost Finnbarr O’Mahony who had started well to an injury after only ten minutes. Patrick O’Mahony moved in to centre back and ably filled the position. Elliott Mulcahy came in from the bench and did really well. In the first half five our six forwards scored from play and our defence had played quite steadily.
For the start of the second half we were boosted by the return of Finnbarr O’Mahony. However it was Na Piarsaigh who started the better. Shortly after we scored a fortunate goal when a long delivery deflected off a Na Piarsaigh defender and in to the back of the net, we added a further point and led by four on a 1-10 to 0-09 scoreline. Though we still had the majority of the ball our shooting was letting us down. We were fortunate during this time that our opponents had a goal disallowed. We failed to press home our advantage and the game was there for the winning until Conor Lehane and Stephen Moore settled all our nerves in those final few minutes.

Overall it was an excellent team performance. Joe Loftus had a fine game in goal. Our full back line of Killian Burke Neil O’Regan and Paudie O’Farrell gave little away over the hour. Patrick O’Mahony had an outstanding game be it at wing back or centre back and was without question a deserved winner of the Rochestown Park Hotel sponsored man of the match. Finnbarr O’Mahony and Leslie Coughlan added to their growing reputations over the course of the game. Ian Kennifick and Cathal McCarthy ensure our forwards had a plentiful supply of ball. Conor Lehane played a captains role and came up with big scores at crucial times. Stephen Moore was also a constant threat throughout. Cormac Walsh, Pa White, Daniel Morissey and Tommy Wallis were always busy and had some smashing scores over the hour. The bench played its part with Elliott Mulcahy and Niall Madden playing their part.
Conor Lehane received the Cup from the Chairman of the Minor Board Peter Horgan who was highly complimentary of both teams. Conor made special mention of the team mentors , Manager Peter Smith and selectors Michael Keohane, Davy Hogan, Pat Walsh and John Ferriter who made a huge effort to ensure that this group of players won a county title.
Team: Joe Loftus, Killian Burke, Neil O’Regan, Paudie O’Farrell, Patrick O’Mahony, Finnbarr O’Mahony, Leslie Coughlan, Ian Kennifick, Cathal McCarthy, Cormac Walsh (0-1), Stephen Moore (0-2), Conor Lehane (0-07, 0-02 frees), Patrick Whyte (0-02), Daniel Morrissey (0-03) and Tom Wallis.
Subs used: Elliott Mulcahy and Niall Madden. Also Coran Swayne, Brian O’Sullivan, Joe Murray, Liam Walsh, Shane Goulding, James O’Leary, Michael Abernethy, Darren Quirke, Padraig Nagle and Paul Aherne.

© 2023 Midleton GAA Club | Web design by Granite Digital