View Cart Feedback
Please rate your experience
with Midleton GAA Club
Leave this field empty
Leave this field empty

You must enable Javascript in your browser to use this website.

Click here to find out how

Sunday 24 Apr 2011 Junior A - Football Championship

Midleton GAA (0-12) vs Dungourney (0-11)

Castlemartyr, 12:00PM

Junior A Football Championship
Midleton 0-12 Dungourney 0-11.
Our Junior A footballers came through their latest Championship fixture on Sunday last when they overcame a gallant Dungourney team by a single point. Tha game was played in glorious sunshine in Castlemaryr. In the first quarter Dungourney were the stronger team winning most of the breaks and carrying the game to Midleton. Dungourney led by 0-5 to 0-3 at this stage. Midleton lost Jamie O’Mahony to a back injury and he was ably replaced by Keith Ryan. The second quarter belonged to Midleton as we upped our game and kicked some glorious points, notably from Willie O’Brien, John Keane and Keith Ryan. At half time we led 0—9 to 0-06. The second half was only 4 minutes old when Sean Corcoran suffered a bad ankle injury in an accidental collision. The game was held up while Sean was removed to hospital via ambulance. Padraig Dalton was introduced into a revamped Midleton team. Shortly after Padraig O’Shea retired with a hamstring injury. All the injuries and delays seemed to unsettle Midleton. Dungourney rallied and tied up the game with only a couple of minutes to go. Dungourney looked the more likely winners as they had the momentum. A pointed free from Stephen Moore with two minutes to go edged Midleton back in front and we used our experience in the last couple of minutes to hold on for the win. Well done to the Mentors and players who manged to secure the win against strong opponents and despite the long delay and upset caused by Sean’s injury. Midleton now face Carrigtwohill in a quarter final which has to played in the next two weeks.
Team: Brian Behan, Sean Hennessy, Sean Corcoran, Barry Fitgerald, Jamie O’Mahony, Seamus O’Farrell, Eoin Walsh, Patrick O’Mahony, Aidan Ryan, John Keane, Declan Ryan, Kieran Mulcahy, Willie O’Brien, Padraig O’Shea, Stephen Moore. Subs used Keith Ryan, Padraig Dalton and Davy O’Brien

© 2024 Midleton GAA Club | Web design by Granite Digital