View Cart Feedback
Please rate your experience
with Midleton GAA Club
Leave this field empty
Leave this field empty

You must enable Javascript in your browser to use this website.

Click here to find out how

Friday 15 Apr 2011 Fe 21 - ECFC Final

Midleton GAA (2-11) vs Erins Own (1-12)

Cobh, 18:45PM

Fe 21 Football championship Final
Midleton 2-11 Erins own 1-12
Our Fe 21 footballers bridged a 31 year gap on Friday night when they claimed the East Cork A title on Friday night last in Cobh. After a good hour of entertainment when at various stages it looked like either team would win, a late Midleton rally produced the decisive scores and secured a famous victory for the Club. The opening twenty minutes belonged to Midleton when a succession of fine score saw us lead by 0-6 to 0-2. erins own rallied to reduce the deficit to a the minimum. Padraig O’Shea scored a fisted goal but Erins own responded with a foal of their own. At half time we led by 1-07 to 1-05. Erins own started the second period strongly with four unanswered points. They had a penalty chance which ended up going over the bar rather than under it. Midleton had made a number of personnel and positional changes and they started to have an effect. Substitutes Conor Lehane and Cormac Walsh both kicked points but the move of Ian Kennifick to full forward had the desired effect as he rattled the net to put Midleton ahead with only minutes left. In a frantic finish Erins Own had a goal chance to win it however Dara O’Keefe stepped up to the mark with an excellent match winning save. On the night Midleton had excellent performers throughout the team and the manner of their come back in the last ten minutes brought great satisfaction to the large number of Midleton supporters in attendance. A word of praise too for a fine Erins Own team who played some excellent football on the night. Well done to the players and to their mentors Davey O’Brien, Eoin Ferriter, Declan Ryan, Sean Corcoran and Kieran Mulcahy.
Team: Dara O’Keefe, Cillian Burke, Luke O’Farrell, Brian O’Sullivan, Leslie Coughlan, Seamus O’Farrell (0-1) (Capt.), Jamie O’Mahony, Patrick O’Mahony, Ian Kennifick (1-0) , Niall Madden (0-2), Shane Ryan (0-1), Pa White, Shane Harrington, Padraig O’Shea (1-2), Stephen Moore (0-2, 0-1f).
Subs Used. Cormac Walsh (0-1), Conor Lehane (0-1), Padraig O’Keefe and Paul Haughney.

© 2024 Midleton GAA Club | Web design by Granite Digital