View Cart Feedback
Please rate your experience
with Midleton GAA Club
Leave this field empty
Leave this field empty

You must enable Javascript in your browser to use this website.

Click here to find out how

Sunday 21 Nov 2010 Fe 21 - ECHC Final

Sarsfields (2-10) vs Midleton GAA (0-14)

Ballynoe, 14:30PM

Midleton 0-14 Sarsfields 2-10
The old saying that goals win matches would appear to have been the case on Sunday last when Sarsfields overcame Midleton to claim the East Cork Fe 21 hurling title. This replay of the drawn game was eagerly anticipated and was played in Ballnnoe with Barry Day of Agahada refereeing. Midleton played with the aid of the breeze in the first half but got off to a disappointing start when we conceded a goal when a pass out of defence was intercepted. Sarsfields were playing well at this stage and added a further goal from another stray Midleton pass in defence to lead by eight points. Midleton rallied well with four points before half time but still trailed by four. We started the second half strongly and despite facing in to the elements had reduced the deficit to just one point with ten minutes left. However giving our opponents such a big lead was to prove too much in the end as Sarsfields added a couple of points. We did have a late chance to score an equalizing goal but that was not to be as the ball went just over rather than just under the cross bar. The margin in the end was just two points. Overall the lads and mentors would have been very disappointed to loose, the two goals making all the difference in the end. The Club would like to thank the Mentors and Players for their great efforts over the two games and hopefully they will enjoy a well earned rest over the winter and come back stronger than ever in the new year.
Team: Tom Wallace, Killian Burke (0-1), Patrick O’Mahony, Alwyn Kearney, James O’Donnell, Padraig O’Shea(Capt.), James Nagle, Padraig O’Keefe (0-2), Seamus O’Farrell, Conor Lehane (0-8, 7 Frees), Ian Kenefick (0-1), Cormac Walsh, Paul Haughney, Luke O’Farrell (0-2), John Keane.
Subs Used: Finnbarr O’Mahony, Daniel Morrissey, Patrick Whyte, Jamie O’Mahony.

© 2022 Midleton GAA Club | Web design by Granite Digital