View Cart Feedback
Please rate your experience
with Midleton GAA Club
Leave this field empty
Leave this field empty

You must enable Javascript in your browser to use this website.

Click here to find out how

Senior Hurling Championship Weekend

31 May, 2013

Senior Hurling Championship Weekend


Our Senior Hurlers play their first round of the Championship on Sunday afternoon next @ 4pm in Carrigtwohill against Douglas.
Preparation has gone well and we would like to wish the Management team of Peter Smith, Muiris Quirke, Davey Hogan & Pat Walsh along with the panel of players the very best of Luck.

On Saturday evening we host the first round game between Blackrock and Killeagh @ 7.30pm. Club members will be meeting @ 12 tomorrow to prepare the field and grounds and later @ 6pm in advance of the game.     

Senior Hurling Championship Details

Clubs Involved:  Ballinhassig, Ballymartle, Bishopstown, Blackrock, Bride Rovers, Carrigtwohill, Courcey Rovers, Douglas, Erin's Own
Glen Rovers, Killeagh, Midleton, Na Piarsaigh, Newtownshandrum, Sarsfields, St. Finbarr's plus Carbery/Avondhu and Imokilly/UCC

In: Ballinhassig (Premier Intermediate Champions 2012)

Out: Cloyne (Relegated)

County Final 2012: Sarsfields 1-15 Bishopstown 1-13

Recent Winners

2012 Sarsfields (Runners-up: Bishopstown)
2011  Carrigtwohill (Runners-up: CIT)
2010  Sarsfields (Runners-up: Glen Rovers)
2009  Newtownshandrum (Runners-up: Sarsfields)
2008 Sarsfields (Runners-up: Bride Rovers)

Seán Óg Murphy Cup 

A native of Cork city, Sean Og Murphy (1897-1956) played hurling for Blackrock and football for Nils. With Nils he won junior football titles in 1913 and 1914, while with his beloved Blackrock hurling team he won county titles in 1913, 1920, 1924, 1925 and 1927. The last three wins featured Murphy as captain of the side. He won three All-Ireland medals with Cork (1919, 1926 and 1928), along with six Munster medals. Murphy also lined out with Munster in the inter-provincial hurling competition. He first played for his province as captain in the inaugural year of the Railway Cup competition in 1927, however, Leinster were the victors on that occasion. Murphy served as captain again in 1928 and 1929 as he collected two Railway Cup winners' medals. Murphy also served as a selector on various Cork hurling teams over a period of four decades.

While still a player he was a selector on the Cork teams that won the All-Ireland title sunder his captaincy in 1926 and 1928. Even though an injury brought his hurling career to an end Murphy served as a selector as Cork won two more All-Ireland titles in 1929 and 1931. He was a key member of the backroom team again as Cork won six more All-Ireland titles in 1941, 1943, 1944, 1952, 1953 and 1954. He served as secretary of Cork County Board from 1929 until his death in 1956, and in 2000 was named as full-back on the Cork Hurling Team of the Century.

Saturday June 1st
@ Páirc Uí Rinn, S.H.C. Erin's Own v Na Piarsaigh, 6 p.m. - Live on C103
@ Páirc Uí Rinn, S.H.C. Sarsfields v Ballinhassig, 7.45 p.m. - Live on C103
@ Kilworth, Premier I.H.C. Carrigaline v Ballyhea, 7.30p.m.
@ Ballincollig, Premier I.H.C. Newcestown v Blarney, 7.30 p.m.
@ Donoughmore, I.H.C. Dripsey v Kanturk, 6 p.m.
@ Donoughmore, I.H.C. Charleville v Argideen Rangers, 7.30 p.m.
@ Kildorrery, I.H.C. Aghada v Meelin, 4 p.m.
@ Brinny, I.H.C. Barryroe v Aghabullogue, 6 p.m.
@ Brinny, I.H.C. Éire Óg v Ballygarvan, 7.30p.m.
@ Midleton, S.H.C. Blackrock v Killeagh, 7.30 p.m.

Sunday June 2nd
@ Páirc Uí Chaoimh, S.H.C. Glen Rovers v St. Finbarrs, 7.30 p.m.
@ Kilworth, S.H.C. Ballymartle v Newtownshandrum, 6.30 p.m.
@ Riverstick, S.H.C. Bishopstown v Courcey Rovers, 3.30p.m.
@ Ballynoe, S.H.C. Bride Rovers v Carrigtwohill, 8 p.m.
@ Carrigtwohill, S.H.C. Douglas v Midleton, 4 p.m.
@ Carrigtwohill, Premier I.H.C. Youghal v Valley Rovers, 2.30 p.m
@ Páirc Uí Rinn, Premier I.H.C. Cloyne v Kilbrittain, 2.30p.m. - Live on C103
@ Páirc Uí Rinn, Premier I.H.C. Mallow v Tracton, 4.15 p.m. - Live on C103
@ Newcestown, Premier I.H.C. Inniscarra v Bandon, 3.30 p.m.
@ Caherlag, Premier I.H.C. Castlelyons v Ballincollig, 7.30p.m.
@ Rathcormac, Premier I.H.C. Kilworth v Watergrasshill, 3p.m.
@ Killeagh, I.H.C. Fr. O'Neill's v St. Catherines, 3 p.m.
@ Buttevant, I.H.C. Fermoy v Dromina, 3.30p.m.
@ Charleville, I.H.C. Milford v Kildorrery, 3 p.m.

© 2023 Midleton GAA Club | Web design by Granite Digital